Alert Emergency Alert

Town Offices Closed to the Public.

Read More
toe election banner

Tuesday September 26, 2017

22 East Main Street, Emmitsburg, MD
7:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

election results

Registered Candidates


1.  Donald N. Briggs


1. Jennifer J. Joy
2. Joseph A. Ritz III

Up for vote :

Mayor, 1 Commissioner Seat

Voter Registration

You must be registered to vote in Frederick County, MD.  The last day to become a registered voter in Frederick County is August 28, 2017.

How To Register:

  1. Maryland State Voter Registration Website
  2. Download & print a registration application* 
  3. Pick up a registration application at Emmitsburg Town Office*

*If you use the registration application, it MUST BE MAILED to:
Frederick County Board of Elections
The Bourne Building
355 Montevue Lane
Frederick, MD 21702

Applications that are faxed or emailed will not be accepted.
For questions about voter registration, please contact Frederick County Board of Elections at 301-600-VOTE (8683) 

Filing for Candidacy

Candidates must file written application for candidacy and their Financial Disclosures with the Town Clerk no later than August 28th at 4:00 p.m.

All candidates will be posted on the Town bulletin board in the order they are received.

The write-in deadline is September 19, 2017 at Noon.

Election Judges
Approved by Board of Commissioners on August 7, 2017


Sharon Hane
Charlotte Mazaleski
Barbara Weedon
Alternate: Julie Holmes 


Documents for download

Sample ballot
2017 Absentee Ballot Request
2017 Candidacy Form

Financial Disclosure
Article II - Board of Commissioners
Article III - Mayor
Election Code 2_28

2017 Election Packet (5 documents)